Left 4 dead


I’m sure you heard about this game. And if you didn’t,  google it a little bit!

Left4dead_logo

One of the best survival first person-shooters ever created. And of course, if it comes to FPS, we talking about Valv3 Corporation.

All over the world, gamers enjoy spending hours and hours playing this co-operative FPS online. I didn’t play it online, but I enjoyed myself with it, more hours than you can imagine. I had a few days that I played it all day long…and I wanted more.

left4dead 2009-06-17 20-18-14-12

There are two version of the game, one for PC and one for X-Box 360. The story of the game it’s pretty simple. Four people survived a mass-infection which transformed the population into zombies. They are fast, they are furious and of course, they are hungry!!! You [the character you choose] must eliminate all the hordes of zombies that you encounter during playing the campaigns.

left4dead 2009-06-17 20-30-42-04

There are four major campaigns in Left 4 Dead: No Mercy, Death Toll, Dead Air and Blood Harvest plus two bonus campaigns: Crash Course and The Last Stand.

You may choose a character between Francis [biker], Bill [Vietnam veteran], Louis [system analyst] and Zoey [female college student]. Of course I only played with Zoey, as most of my friends did.

left4dead 2009-06-17 20-45-17-96

The only thing you always have to do is survive. One mission/map leads you to a safe-house. You must reach this location and fight with the zombie hordes and the other infected units.

left4dead 2009-06-17 21-00-04-53

The special infected units of the uncommon ones are The Witch, Boomer, Hunter, Smoker and the giant Tank. All of them can be brought down easily if you cooperate with your team. One thing you have to always avoid is The mothafuckin’ witch. Yo, “the bitch is always crying, but if you startle her, you always dying”.

left4dead 2009-06-17 21-00-50-84

I remember that I always used to shoot the bitch when I was near her and almost every time I died.

Another interesting fact about the game is that you must be quiet. Noise will always allert the hordes and they come to hunt you down. Some missions/maps are just about this. When you have to open a door or to call an elevator of if you start the car alarm, zombies will know where to find your arse.

But being attacked by so many zombies is so much fun. You can always score multiple headshots during a violent zombie attack.

left4dead 2009-06-17 21-11-04-01

left4dead 2009-06-17 21-36-17-03

Why did they called it a survival? Because that’s the purpose of the game. Survive and reach the safe-house. And  because in the last mission of each campaign you must survive till rescue is coming. I really like the map when I’m on the top of a building waiting for the chopper to come. Like in the final seconds before rescuing I was trapped by a Smoker and a Hunter just jumped on me. But I managed to survive [that time].

left4dead 2009-06-17 22-02-24-32

All this being said, you must play this one and of course you must play the upcoming Left 4 dead 2 too, which I think will be much better than the first one. You can check this TV promo for L4D2:

And finally  a little gameplay from Left4Dead presenting the first mission from the No Mercy Campaign. Enjoy!

One thought on “Left 4 dead

  1. Pingback: JapFun « J-Entertainment v2.2

Leave a Reply

